doctorkasce.blogg.se

Wargame red dragon mods 1911
Wargame red dragon mods 1911










Like several others, I dislike un-pausable RTS games. Having played the game, now, I came here to post on just this topic I'm glad to see it's been raised already, and I hope this thread isn't too old to resurrect with what I think is more than a "me, too!" post.

#Wargame red dragon mods 1911 series#

Best of luck with the game, and the series (RUSE (which IIRC did allow pausing) is my favourite RTS of all time, and I still have a fondness for Eugen from that game) - I'll check back in every 12 months or so and see if you've decided to make the game/series more accessible and, if that's happened at that point, jump on board then. I followed this issue up today to see whether I'd pre-order or not, and while I'm sad I won't be I appreciate knowing the lay of the land. That said, I do applaud the devs for being up-front about it. While I read in another thread there might be technical issues with pausing (which sounds rather odd - active pausing is neither new or particularly advanced technology - but perhaps the engine is built in such a way that makes it impossible to implement?), how about a 'super bullet-time' option where the speed is 100,000 times slower than normal if the engine can't cope with 'full stop'? That way, it actually is as good as paused, rather than still quick enough that for people that have a degree of cognitive impairment find it impractical? It is, of course, the devs prerogative to arbitrarily exclude people that would enjoy playing the game, although doing it on a feature as simple as a pause seems to be an arbitrary way to limit profits, which does seem a bit odd. Ten times slower is not the same as paused, nowhere near.

wargame red dragon mods 1911

At the same time, singular high-tier artillery pieces generally don't have enough firepower, and springing for two cards in anything but a support deck can leave you dangerously short of AA.This may be the way it looks to people that can regularly play on normal, but I could just cope with Red Dragon on bullet time when I was healthier than I am now. The accuracy and aiming time gains can be quite significant for units like the MSTA-S - shooting with a 'trained' MSTA is a bit like firing a shotgun, while an 'elite' equivalent (from a support deck) is more like a sniper rifle. High-tier SAMs is a big trade-off, since the added accuracy is often needed to punch through heavy ECM, but going from 6 to 4 units for the OSA-AKM, or 4 to 3 for the Buk-M1 can leave you really vulnerable if your opponents hits one with ECM or artillery.Īrtillery is also a big maybe. High veterancy means low dispersion, which can be useful if you're trying to counter-battery, but means that rocket fire is less useful for area bombardment. Personally speaking, I don't ever opt for the higher veterancy on units I expect to lose a lot of - light / medium tanks, line riflemen, cheap planes, etc. It just comes down to where you want to excel on the battlefield and what you need to do soĮntirely depends on your playstyle. I only take cheap planes (typically under 100 points) for numbers over veterancy.įor artillery I always grab numbers over veterancy, I find vetting arty makes little difference to overall performance and prefer to have more units available incase I lose some to counter fire.

wargame red dragon mods 1911

I almost always pick maximum availability over veterancy for my AA options under support, this is because I consider them essential to my play style, if I lost them I'd have a hard time therefore the slightly reduced efficiency is worth the extra units.įor air superiority fighters I always go max veterancy, fighters are expensive and you don't get many, however because of the way planes work you need them to perform as well as they possibly can.

wargame red dragon mods 1911

THE GENERAL GIST IS, Vet it if you've got enough of it that losing a few won't leave you without an essential unit you expect you'll need. If you want to rush towns and have infantry superiority, take high vet infantry, if you want to control open space get high vet support options and tanks. If you're playing a none thematic deck (which is most likely) then there's really no particular direction set out for you, just vet what you want. Going from trained to hardened on line inf doesn't make much difference, especially when my infantry tactics revolve around large numbers of men to engage the enemy while support vehicles do most of the damage. If I want a larger number of tanks, I just grab another card.įor infantry, I actually go for highest availability usually. I literally get every tank on the highest level of veterancy possible (aside from the best tanks, which I get at Veteran rather than Elite, as the difference is minimal and having 2 is far more preferable). What to vet really comes down to how you want your army to perform and I dare say, what theme you want a for a deck.įor instance, I usually play armoured decks.










Wargame red dragon mods 1911